Registration closes one week before event. Please contact us for more information.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Choose Your Own Book Club I November 4th I 7pm EST via Zoom (FREE EVENT)

November 4 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm EDT

Free
Welcome to the Choose Your Own Book Club: the book club where you always get to choose the book!

Bring whatever (birthwork related) book you’ve been reading to the group, and share a bit about it.

What do you like about it?  What do you hate?  What has left you wondering?  What will you use in your work?

This is a great way to get those book reviews done, connect with other members, and find your next great read.

WHEN:  Thursday, November 4th at 7:00pm-8:30pm EST
WHERE:  Zoom
WHAT:  A 90 minute discussion about the books you’ve read and LOVED!  This event is worth 2 EU credits for certifying DTC students.
Zoom link will be sent to you via email after registration.

———————————————————————————————————————————–

Doula Canada is committed to including more authors from equity seeking communities, and more books that reflect the ways in which identity and oppression connect to our work.

In July, we asked you about the authors and books that we should add to our list of readings.  You came up with an incredible selection!

Battling Over Birth: Black Women and the Maternal Health Care Crisis by Julia Chinyere Oparah: https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/36990456-battling-over-birth

Birth Work as Care Work: Stories from Activist Birth Communities: https://www.amazon.ca/Birth-Work-Care-Activist-Communities/dp/1629631515

Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17465709-braiding-sweetgrass

Decolonizing Trauma Work by Renee Linkletter: https://fernwoodpublishing.ca/book/decolonizing-trauma-work

Fat Birth: Confident, Strong and Empowered Pregnancy At Any Size by Michelle Mayefske: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/59121739-fat-birth

Impossible Parenting: Creating a New Culture of Mental Health for Parents by Olivia Scobie: https://oliviascobie.com/writing/

Killing the Black Body: Race, Reproduction, and the Meaning of Liberty by Dorothy Roberts: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/155575/killing-the-black-body-by-dorothy-roberts/

Queer Conception: the Complete Fertility Guide for Queer and Trans Parents-To-Be by Kristin Liam Kali: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/675793/queer-conception-by-kristin-l-kali/

Radical Reproductive Justice: Foundations, Theory, Practice, Critique edited by Loretta J. Ross, Lynn Roberts, Erika Derkas, Whitney Peoples, and Pamela Bridgewater Toure https://www.feministpress.org/books-n-z/radical-reproductive-justice

Supporting Queer Birth by AJ Silver: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/60746013-supporting-queer-birth

The Care We Dream Of: Liberatory and Transformative Approaches to LGBTQ+ Health by Zena Sharman: https://arsenalpulp.com/Books/T/The-Care-We-Dream-Of

The Remedy: Queer and Trans Voices on Health and Health Care by Zena Sharman: https://zenasharman.com/the-remedy

The Strangers by Katherena Vermette: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/624145/the-strangers-by-katherena-vermette/9780735239616

Have something else great on your bookshelf?  Let us know!

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Details

Date:
November 4
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm EDT
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Canada + Google Map
Phone:
1 (888) 216-9782
View Venue Website

Other

Display payment plan?
no
Contact Us

Questions? We would love to help!

0

Start typing and press Enter to search

Skip to content